Fight Allergy Season the Natural Way With a Neti Pot

As most allergy suffers know, late summer is ragweed season.  Ragweed is highly allergenic and generally considered the greatest allergen of all pollens.  Antihistamines are commonly utilized to help minimize the allergic reaction, but they are not usually enough to stop the reaction altogether.  Consequently, a large percent of the population suffers for weeks with congestion and itching.

Fortunately, the ancient Indian cleansing technique, neti has been proven to be an effective treatment for hay fever¹ as well as sinusitis, and other nasal conditions.  Neti is a nasal irrigation technique utilizing saline water to rinse the nasal and sinus passages.   Nasal cleansing began as an Ayurvedic technique in Ancient India. In modern times, saline nasal irrigation (SNI) has become more widely accepted as a home remedy to relieve conditions such as allergies, colds and mild sinus infections.   I can report from personal use, my neti pot is a huge part of my allergy management plan and provides me with much relief.

Function

Neti pots can be made from many materials including ceramic and plastic.  They are used to flush out the nasal cavities by using gravity to draw the flow of saline. Some modern variants available from pharmacies are made of flexible plastic and can be compressed to exert additional pressure.  It is important to maintain neutral osmolarity (using the same amount of salt that is present in the body) in order to soothe the mucus membranes, so please follow the instructions that come with your particular neti pot.   Distilled or filtered water is also recommended to prevent additional pollutants from entering your nasal passages.  Please follow the video below for instructions.

 References

  1.  Rabago D, Zgierska A (November 2009). “Saline nasal irrigation for upper respiratory conditions”. Am Fam Physician 80 (10): 1117–9. PMC 2778074. PMID 19904896.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Berna
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 16:14:53

    Good post. Its realy good. More info help me.

    Reply

    • Bagangsillong
      Apr 08, 2012 @ 19:02:23

      (Health and Beauty) Saline nasal gel is longer-lasting than just plain sailne. The humidifying effect reminds me of a cool, misty, spring morning. Usually lasts all night; in extremely dry environments you may need to use a bit more than one application during the night. This gel is also very useful on long airline flights where your nose gets overly dried-out just apply a little dab under each nostril every few hours and you’ll breathe more easily the whole flight!

      Reply

  2. pozycjonowanie warszawa
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 17:28:17

    Good write-up, I’m regular visitor of one’s site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

    Reply

    • Matsumoto
      Apr 09, 2012 @ 05:08:25

      I have wanted a Neti Pot for years (prior to the Oprah craze) and just never got one. For Christmas this year my mom gave me one (given my sinus ssiues). I was only slightly hesitant because I was born without frontal sinuses I did it tonight for the first time and i’ll admit it took awhile to get going. It also burned just a little but I was patient. By the time I was done my sinuses felt so much better. Great product.

      Reply

  3. rahul
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 14:47:58

    I have been using jalaneti for tvewle years. I no longer have terrible sinus problems, and I’ve only had colds two times (yes in 12 years!), and that is because I got lazy and careless and forgot to clean my nose. During colds and flu season, I do one every morning and one at night. It takes as little as 8 hours for the rhino-virus to attach itself to the sinus membranes, so jalaneti night and day is your first line of defense.I prefer to use a baby bottle, with a hole drilled in the bottom and a hole cut across the nipple. The nipple is much softer than the hard pot spout and fits better in my nose. Try it! And keep your nose clean!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

