Challenge Yourself to Exercise Everyday

 

Do you exercise every day?

Usually my answer would be no.  I began the Yoga Journal 21 Day Challenge last week, a free web based program designed to challenge you to a daily yoga practice for three week’s time.  And I have to say the benefits have been much greater than my normal 3-4x a week normal practice.

Professionally, I challenge my patient’s to perform specific exercises daily, sometimes multiple times a day, but before this challenge,  I could only think of one week of my adult life that I have worked every day.  Contemplating daily exercise normally makes people resist, thinking of the time commitment needed and worrying about the body tolerating that amount of activity.

Daily exercise does not need to be an hour of cardio, power yoga or weight lifting.  It can be something as simple as walking your dog, following an exercise show on TV or a 15 minute gentle yoga practice.  So, I challenge all of my readers to try some form of exercise every day for 3 weeks, creating your own 21 day challenge.  Feel free to follow the yoga journal challenge or create your own.  Pick the best option for you, just mix it up.  As long as you are not performing the exact same workout everyday and listening to the body to remain pain free, you will feel great!

Why exercise daily?

  • Make fast progress towards your fitness goals
  • Develop a fitness habit that will last you a lifetime
  • Profound stress relief
  • Increased energy
  • Faster weight loss
  •  Improved capacity to gain muscle mass, consequently burning more calories
  • Improved health: decreased blood pressure, decreased “bad” cholesterol, decreased pain
  • Sense of accomplishment

Please consider this challenge of daily exercise for 3 weeks.  Please feel free to comment on this post with your experiences.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fabio
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 18:43:35

    I want to say thanks so much for your work you have made in writing this article. I am hoping the same perfect work by you down the road also.

    Reply

  2. Crysta
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 07:50:59

    Great enthusiast from this site, numerous your posts have seriously helped me out. Looking forward to news!

    Reply

  3. Leana
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 20:19:03

    Major fan of the website, a lot of your articles have definitely helped me out. Looking forward to up-dates!

    Reply

  4. Esteban
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 15:54:45

    Where’s a will, there’s a way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

