Cyclic Meditation

Cyclic meditationcombines yoga postures with supine rest, blending active and passive practices together. A 2006 study by Sarang and Telles studied the oxygen consumption by volunteers performing both cyclic meditation and supine meditation to determine what technique provides a superior relaxation response. The results indicate cyclic meditation is superior in terms relaxation and arousal states vs. traditional supine meditative practices.

Based on my clinical experience, most people find it difficult to maintain focus when first introduced to meditation. A more active approach such as cyclic meditation is a great place to start.

Instructions:

STEP ONE: Mountain Pose

Stand with your legs shoulder width apart with toes pointed ahead. Tighten your thighs and straighten your back and neck. Pull in the shoulders and relax your arms. Hold this position with your eyes closed for 1-2 minutes. Your focus your attention to only your breath.

STEP TWO: Corpse Pose

Slowly lay down on your back with your legs hips width apart and rotated out. Rest your arms comfortably at your sides with palms up. Relax every part of your body and breathe deeply. Again focus your attention on your breath. Maintain this position for 1-2 minutes. Repeat this cycle 3-5 times.

 

Reference:

Sarang, P.S and Telles, S (2006). Oxygen consumption and respiration during and after two yoga relaxation techniques. Applied Psychophysiology and Biofeedback. 31, 143-153.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lower back pain relief
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 06:58:03

    I look forward to reading more of your articles and posts in the future, so I’ve bookmarked your blog. When I see good quality content, I like to share it with others. So I’ve created a backlink to your site. Thank you!…
    Welcome to my site : Lower back pain relief

    Reply

  2. Carmine Yunk
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 22:29:31

    My brother suggested I might like this internet site. He was entirely ideal. This post really produced my day. You are able to not envision just just how much time I had spent for this information and facts! Thanks!

    Reply

  3. michael jackson vitiligo
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 15:18:26

    michael jackson vitiligo
    First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

